Tasmanian Association of State Superannuants
Print Page Button

Recent News

Superannuation issues

TASS has recently raised its concerns about some superannuation issues with the Premier. These relate to changes to the Superannuation Commision structure, and to the planned use of $200M from RBF for COVID recovery projects. The linked article from the Examiner deals with these matters.


Executive Committee 2020

At the AGM on 25 August 2020, the following Executive members were elected. There remains 1 vacancy for an Executive member, so let us know if you are interested.


John Minchin

Vice President

John Pauley

Secretary & Public Officer

John Chalmers


Mike Walker

Membership Officer

Charles Thomas

Newsletter Editor

Jeneane Thomas

Executive Members

Ross Brown


Murray Harper


Stephen Graetzer

Chris Bevan

Jean Walker



Nominations close 5.00pm: Thursday 20 August 2020


The AGM will be held at the Motor Yacht Club of Tasmania,1 Ford Parade, Lindisfarne commencing at 1.30 PM.

All positions are declared vacant and nominations for the following positions are invited:

-           President;

-           Vice-President;

-           Secretary;

-           Treasurer;

-           Membership Officer

-           Newsletter Editor; plus

-           up to an additional six (6) Executive members.


Time: 1:30 to 3:00pm (including afternoon tea)

Guest Speaker: Mrs Sue Leitch, CEO Council on the Ageing (COTA)


RSVP and Nominations: 

By 5:00pm Thurs 20 Aug 2020 to Charles Thomas, 0422414861 or info@tass.org.au

Indicate if you will attend in person, or via Zoom.


The TASS Executive has decided to consolidate it's banking with the one organisation. We have opened accounts at MyState Bank.

For members who renew using direct deposit either online or at a branch, changes will be minimal. The Bendigo Bank account that you have been depositing into will be replaced by:

MyState Account BSB: 807-009
Account Number: 30137067
Account Name: Tasmanian Association of State Superannuants.

In Tasmania, MyState has branches at Glenorchy, Hobart, Kingston, New Town, Rosny, Kings Meadows, Launceston, Burnie and Devonport.

For those who pay by cheque, there is no change: TASS remains the Payee.

If you have TASS’s account details saved in your online banking address list, please ensure that you alter the details to those above.

The online membership forms will be updated with this new information in the near future

16 March 2020

AGM Postponed

Due to the risks associated with holding group meetings during the current COVID-19 situation, the Executive have decided to postpone the AGM scheduled for Tuesday 17th March.

We will advise all those who had RSVP'd by email.

At this stage we are unable to say when we will reschedule the AGM.

25 Feb 2020


Tuesday 17 March 2020
Venue: Motor Yacht Club of Tasmania (MYCT)
1 Ford Parade, Lindisfarne, Tas

Parking is available at the MYCT or on the street

Time: 1:30 to 3:00pm (including afternoon tea)
Guest Speaker: Mrs Sue Leitch, CEO Council of the Ageing (COTA) - "Embracing the Future"
Please put this event in your diaries.

RSVP by Thursday 12 March 2020, to Charles Thomas, Phone: 0422 414 861 or Email: info@tass.org.au